100% fashion Staff with care

“Mercedes-Benz Presents” Title Awarded to Naeem Khan

“Mercedes-Benz Presents” Title Awarded to Naeem Khan

Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week (MBFW) is fast approaching and the luxury car company has named Naeem Khan this year’s “Mercedes-Benz Presents” designer.

Naeem Khan, known for designing luxurious gowns and separates, has a fan base that includes Beyoncé, Florence Welch, First Lady Michelle Obama, Lady Gaga and Lea Michelle.  Khan’s creations are all embroidered by hand and cut to create a silhouette that can only be mastered by a designer who has been trained to drape and cut in the most innovative ways that exist.

Khan launched his collection, Naeem Khan, in 2003 and has grown from selling in Bergdorf Goodman, Neiman Marcus and Saks Fifth Avenue to selling in more than 100 specialty stores worldwide.  In 2008, he was inducted as a member of the Council of Fashion Designers of America.

Naeem Khan states-

“As a lifetime Mercedes-Benz owner, the honor of being chosen as the ‘Mercedes-Benz Presents’ designer has a very special meaning to me.  I am thrilled to receive this accolade from a brand that shares the same passion for innovative design and quality craftsmanship that I do.”

To kick off this season’s shows, Khan will make a special appearance at the Fashion’s Night In event on Feb. 9. As part of the program, Mercedes-Benz is featuring a display in the lobby of the Lincoln Center during fashion week showcasing pieces from the Naeem Khan collection alongside the 2012 ML63 AMG SUV.  Khan’s runway show is scheduled for Tuesday, Feb. 14 at 2PM in the theatre.

Some looks from the Naeem Khan Spring 2012 Ready-to-Wear Collection:


Mercedes-Benz chooses a designer every Fashion Week in New York and Miami to collaborate on a project to compliment the brand’s automobiles of the season.  The designer is chosen based on unique style, innovation and the quality of materials used in regards to their collections.  The final criteria is the designer must have been successful over the past seven years in all three of the previously mentioned areas.

In the past, the prestigious title has been rewarded to Monique Lhuillier, Carolina Herrera, Hervé Léger by Max Azria, and Badgley Mischka to name a few.  More recent designers rewarded include: Derek Lam-Spring 2012, LUXE by Lisa Vogel- Swim 2012, Hervé Léger by Max Azria-Fall 2011, and Carolina Herrera-Spring 2011.